Macap M4 Doserless - worth getting?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
tylerm713

#1: Post by tylerm713 »

Quick intro: I'm still relatively new to espresso, but I'm consistently pulling good shots with the Breville Barista Express that I've had for a couple of years. I came across an ad for a used Macap M4 stepless and doserless grinder, seems to be in good shape with new burrs, and the seller is asking $200.

From the reviews I've read, the Macap is a good machine, and this looks like a good price. My question is whether it's worth buying, or if I'd be better served waiting a bit and getting something a bit nicer later.

Neto

#2: Post by Neto »

macap is an italian brand and they are solid, this model is pretty almost the same in performance as a mazzer mini.. I had one myself and it worked well and was able to sell it quick for what i paid for.

splashalot

#3: Post by splashalot »

I've had a Macap M4 doser model for around 14-15 years now, according to my (somewhat rusty) memory. It grinds around 1 to 1.5kg of coffee a month and has given fantastic service - never one issue in that time. And replacement burrs are dirt cheap.

It is, however, slow and noisy. Noise is subjective, however, grinding time is around 30+ seconds for 15-18 grams of medium to darkish roast. 23g takes ~45 seconds. Light roasts take longer again. For comparison purposes the Niche Zero I had took around 10-15 seconds for the same beans and weights.

If the noise and slow grind don't bother you, the M4 is a very solid grinder.

tylerm713 (original poster)

#4: Post by tylerm713 (original poster) »

splashalot wrote:For comparison purposes the Niche Zero I had took around 10-15 seconds for the same beans and weights.
Thanks for the feedback. Funny enough, the Niche is something I've had my eye on, but it's obviously a bit more of an investment at this point.

milehi
Supporter ♡

#5: Post by milehi »