Looking for a Dual Boiler Espresso Machine with a tank...

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
emperorma

#1: Post by emperorma »

Long-time lurker who is finally going to take the plunge.

I want a dual boiler home machine...but it cannot be plumbed in. Volume will mostly be low (15-20 shots per day...half of these used for lattes), with an occasional trip to small parties where volume will be a bit higher. Ease of use is a high priority, and temperature stability is of the utmost concern.

My budget for the machine is <$2,000. Is the Brewtus II the only choice out there?

This machine will be paired with a LaCimbali Jr. grinder. Thanks for your help.

cappadoc

#2: Post by cappadoc »

The only options that come to mind are the Brewtus II or, perhaps, consider the La Spaziale S1 with a flojet pump into a 5 gallon water jug. That is my current setup and it is a dream! I have no experience with the Brewtus, so I'm not being negative about it. I love the silence of the rotary pump. I need to add an accumulator tank to lessen the work on the flojet, but the total cost for the pump and tank is <$200 at espresso parts NW.

Jeff

Advertisement
HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »

cappadoc wrote:I need to add an accumulator tank to lessen the work on the flojet, but the total cost for the pump and tank is <$200 at espresso parts NW.
Does the S1 really need a FloJet, i.e., would a check valve suffice? The Procon pump certainly doesn't need positive pressure (IIRC, it's spec'd at six foot vertical lift).

Ball-type check valve assures water flows only one direction
Dan Kehn

emperorma (original poster)

#4: Post by emperorma (original poster) »

I'd love to do that with the La Spaziale...but I really am not able to do a plumb-in or a pump/bottle configuration. Pourover is my only option due to portability concerns.