Lever or pump

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
alexis

#1: Post by alexis »

Hi lever experts,

I'm new to this great forum (learned a lot already) but I'm a bit lost so value your tips.

I'm thinking to move from a pump to a lever espresso machine but hesitant because I prefer darker roasts and I also like to make lungos quiet often (may be 50/50 with regular espressos). From what I have seen on this forum, levers tend to run hotter (not so good for darker roasts) and making lungos is tricky. I love the low tech and low maintenance of levers but I'm not sure it will be the right machine for me given my coffee tastes.

What would you recommend? Thanks.

Marmot

#2: Post by Marmot »

Hey!

In your case the Bezzera Strega seems like an ideal option. It is an HX machine and you can lower the brew temperature fast by flushing the group. The machine is hot pretty fast due to heating elements in the group. The Strega has a vibration pump which fills the group completely and enables you to pull large shots. But you have to be ok with the pump noise before extraction ;)

alexis (original poster)

#3: Post by alexis (original poster) »

I had considered the Strega: it's a bit large for the space I have. What about something like the Olympia Cremina?

Marmot

#4: Post by Marmot »