Lateral Move from HG-1

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
IntrepidQ3

#1: Post by IntrepidQ3 »

I have been using my HG1 for the last four years. No regrets, great grinder, but manual grinding is starting to not fit into my routine anymore.

I'm looking for an electric grinder that produces about the same quality, I'm willing to sacrifice a bit here... I know that the burrs set is a steal at the HG1 cost point.

I like to single dose. I would prefer doserless, as I'm looking for minimal fuss. Budget is $900.00

Kind of been eyeing a Macap M4 or a used Mazzer Mini. I also noticed a nice used Compak K10 in budget. I know the k10 has a dozer, but I heard it might be worth a little fuss.

Any thoughts, guidance, other options to look into would be appreciated!
"As you know, an explorer's temperament requires two basic qualities: optimism in attempt, criticism in work."-Freud

leozava
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by leozava »

There is a motor kit being offered for the hg-1, have you considered that??

IntrepidQ3 (original poster)

#3: Post by IntrepidQ3 (original poster) replying to leozava »

I have, but I plan on selling the HG1 to fund the lateral move. The motor unfortunately is way above the budget with out selling the HG1. :?
"As you know, an explorer's temperament requires two basic qualities: optimism in attempt, criticism in work."-Freud

Markant

#4: Post by Markant »

Maybe you should just wait a little bit: Niche Zero grinder is almost ready to be sent to Idiegogo customers. If it performs well, it will be an interesting single dose grinder, for just £500.

JohnB.
Supporter ♡

#5: Post by JohnB. »

IntrepidQ3 wrote:I like to single dose. I would prefer doserless, as I'm looking for minimal fuss. Budget is $900.00

Kind of been eyeing a Macap M4 or a used Mazzer Mini. I also noticed a nice used Compak K10 in budget. I know the k10 has a dozer, but I heard it might be worth a little fuss.