La Marzocco Linea Mini or Profitec Pro 700?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
ntsimmonds

#1: Post by ntsimmonds »

I am currently in the market for an espresso machine. I am a barista at a low-volume set up but I've been wanting to experiment/grow/train with espresso outside the boundaries of work. I have been doing pour overs in my home daily for the last 2 years and have been trained by a specialty shop close by.

I know this is a big investment for my first machine but I am choosing to do this as an active substitute to having to drive an hour to get really good espresso that isn't what I brew at my shop. The LMLM is appealing because of its simplicity of operation/user-friendliness and its aesthetics/design. The Pro 700 is appealing because it's cheaper, user-serviceable, and well-reviewed. I will not have any opportunity to try out these machines myself.

Goals:
~5 drinks/day general use
entertaining a small group of guests
self-training (back-to-back drinks for 30m+ at a time)
possible espresso bar catering on the side (for special events like weddings, local community events, etc.)

I also know that the grinder is going to play a big part in being able to accomplish those last two goals and I am aiming at the K30, E37s, Profitec T94, and the Sette 270W.

One of the things I really am trying to figure out is whether or not the Pro 700 would be able to handle a multi-hour back-to-back drink making session consisting of mostly milk drinks (10 oz or less). I am fairly certain the LMLM is capable of handling that kind of pressure. But it is a significant step up in price that I would be willing to make but would rather not if I don't absolutely have to. I would really love some feedback/opinions from those of you who have tried or owned both machines at some point!

kwantfm

#2: Post by kwantfm »