Izzo Alex (HX) vs. Quickmill Andreja Premium

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
jfrescki

#1: Post by jfrescki »

Hello all. I'm a new HB member (but have been reading for a few months). I've been making espresso for about 2+ years on a Krups 2010 which is an electric pump machine with thermoblock heater. It's not a bad little machine for the money, but nonetheless it's time to upgrade to something a lot nicer.

I'm considering several machines (HX & DB). Interestingly, I haven't seen too much on the Alex HX. Seems like a great machine with the obvious advantages of rotary pump and reservoir/plumb option. Chris is offering $150 off the machine which makes it cheaper than the Andreja premium.

I'm interested in any comments and experiences with the Alex vs. the Andreja. Any Andreja advantages that clearly outweigh the Izzo? I'm not that worried about a no-burn wand. Is there a plus to the 1.6L boiler in the Andreja over the Alex's 2L? It would seem not.

That said I'm also considering the Duetto II, the Vivaldi II. I've been reading and reading and I'm having a bit of analysis paralysis. I'm not sure I can justify the premium right now on the DB machines, and I'm someone who likes the learning curve and trying to perfect processes.

Anyway, thanks for input/ideas. (Oh, I'm also picking up a Vario which adds to the bill and keeps me leaning towards HX)

John
Write to your Congressman. Even if he can’t read, write to him.
- Will Rogers

jfrescki (original poster)

#2: Post by jfrescki (original poster) »

Oh, does anyone know if the Alex HX has a vertical placement like the Duetto? I've read some concerns about the pump going on the Duetto II would leak down on the motor.
- Will Rogers

akallio

#3: Post by akallio »

At least it used to have horizontal pump installation. They changed it into vertical in Duetto to reduce noise and vibration.

drdna

#4: Post by drdna »