I'm planning on buying the Lelit Bianca PL162, are there any better options for my needs and budget?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Hubro

#1: Post by Hubro »

Quick context: I drink a ton of coffee and I make pretty good money (I'm a software engineer). Recently I bought a Niche Zero to up my filter coffee / AeroPress game and it was life changing. I'm still riding high on how much more enjoyable my morning routine is with a proper coffee grinder. This has convinced me to invest in an espresso machine as well. I love espresso and I love cappuccinos, plus I work from home so I'd get to use it a lot :D

As I started researching espresso brewing, I naturally found James Hoffmann and Lance Hedrick on YouTube and I've consumed most of their videos over the last month or so.

I love to tinker and tweak, so I know I want a flexible machine. I want full control over brew temperature, flow and pre-infusion time. I would get all this with a manual espresso brewer, but I also want convenient access to hot water and a milk steamer, so I'm definitely getting a machine. (Really, my ideal machine would be a Decent, but it's waaaay too much of an initial investment for a hobby. I'll consider it if I'm still going strong in a couple of years :D)

After looking around for a bit, I've tentatively landed on the Lelit Bianca PL162. It seems to check all my boxes:

- (!!!) Easily configurable brew temperature
- (!!!) Flow control (via the flow control paddle)
- Full control over pre-infusion (via pump lever and/or flow control paddle)
- Dual boiler, super quiet rotary pump
- Pressure gauge
- Hot water spout, milk steamer
- High build quality

I've also considered the Rocket Chronometro, since it has a built-in automatic shot timer, which is *awesome*, but it doesn't seem to have any kind of flow control.