Higher end HX espresso machines vs. lower end double boilers

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Bex

#1: Post by Bex »

Hi there!

I was hoping that the experts could help me with the following question. I am a complete newbie, and plan to buy a nice machine in the spring. As mentioned in another thread, removing temperature from the equation that has so many variables is very important to me in a machine. Reliability is a close second.

The higher end HX machines that are regularly praised - Andreja, Vetrano, etc. - run in the neighborhood of $1500-$1600 dollars (more if you add the thermometer). An Expobar Brewtus II currently costs $1550 from Whole Latte Love.

Comparing these, why would one choose anything but the Brewtus II? It is comparable in size and appearance (if a bit less attractive - but the steampunk appearance of all these machines is an acquired taste, isn't it :)); has the simplicity for pure espresso of the single boiler + PID setup; and has the easy steaming of an HX due to the dedicated steaming boiler.

Even if I look at a lower end HX machine, like an Anita, that's $1250 and the thermometer adaptor brings it to $1350, so only $200 saved. $200 saved, though, is $200 that can go to something else, like a grinder upgrade, if the performance - most importantly the ease of temperature control! - is the same.

Edit: note that I am excluding, for the moment, the possibility of plumbing in any machine that I buy.

mrgnomer

#2: Post by mrgnomer »

I've never used a double boiler like a Brewtus or LaSpaziale VII but from a lot of reading even between the commonly offered double boilers there's differences in design and even reliability that could have an effect on performance.

I've upgraded from a Silvia to Vetrano. While I had the Silvia I was tormented by wanting to upgrade almost as soon as I learned to get good shots from her. With the Vetrano not a hint of upgrade fever in almost 2 years.