Have water line, need espresso machine

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
johnpinetree

#1: Post by johnpinetree »

Hi all, I've been poking around this forum and others or a couple months now, trying to study up and ready to pull the trigger on a machine. My wife and I are hoping to get some more educated advice than what the 'sales' folks online have said.

Our needs are a machine that makes a consistent espresso/americano with minimal nuance on required from the operator since...well since we'll be making these before having had any coffee! We do not drink cappuccinos/lattes. Also, we've remodeled our kitchen, and set things up for a water line to hook up to an espresso machine and want something that leverages the water line pressure. Finally... I'm a scientist, so I'd probably be a little sad to get a machine with no PID loop... but that's a preference and not a need.

I've convinced the wife that these machines hold their value and this will be sort of a lifetime purchase, so I think we can afford to go straight to a prosumer type machine. We were hoping that having no latte-love would help keep the cost manageable. I've been looking on ebay and craigslist for something used to fit the bill, but not a ton of machines come up.

Thanks for the help. Wonderful website and resource!

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »