Hand grinder for $100 or less

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
jayjp04

#1: Post by jayjp04 »

Hi,

I am a student on a budget, and am looking to get the best grind for my buck. Can anyone recommend a hand grinder that they have used that produces a good grind for $100 or less? I have looked at orphan espresso and am just wondering if anyone has tried anything from elsewhere. Thanks for your help!

mindless_fool

#2: Post by mindless_fool »

zassenhaus makes great hand grinders, you can sometimes find them on ebay for a decent price, or try and find an online seller. they have one that is metal instead of wood, quite small and portable. It sells here in canada for $75 canadian.

Hand (grinder) Jive - a photo essay

Decent Espresso: espresso equipment for serious baristas
Sponsored by Decent Espresso
kaffidrikker

#3: Post by kaffidrikker »

The Hario Skerton (http://sweetmarias.com/prod.hario_skerton.php) is another possibility. I have never used one, but both Mark Prince and Tom Owen seem to like it. Supposedly, it grinds fine enough for espresso.
LMWDP #225

sweaner
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by sweaner »

For $40 that Hario grinder could be just the thing. I wonder how the grind compares to the Kyocera.
Scott
LMWDP #248

jayjp04 (original poster)

#5: Post by jayjp04 (original poster) »

If i dont get one for x-mas i will order it and reply back in early January to let you know how well it works. Looking at the website and a youtube video, the Hario looks like a good buy at a pretty good price!

RReynolds

#6: Post by RReynolds »

don't overlook the kyocera cm-45 for $75. they can be hard to find, OE has a good write-up on the cm-50 & mentions the cm-45 [http://www.orphanespresso.com/OE-PFP-Ha ... _3325.html] must say that i haven't used one but plan to purchase one soon as their available. best of luck and lets us know what you get.

peacecup

#7: Post by peacecup »