Grinder upgrade choice vetoed, seeking advice for runner up

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Thewolfiest

#1: Post by Thewolfiest »

I know that this type of post pops-up often so thank you ahead of time. I am hoping to upgrade my grinder from a Niche Zero. We are moving to our first home and I wanted to take this as an opportunity to make a large grinder upgrade. I have tried my hardest to do my research and make my own decision. I had settled on the Kafatek MC6. I gave my wife one full veto for aesthetics as this will be in the kitchen...and unfortunately she chose the MC6, citing it as looking like a microscope for a science experiment (which I mean is exactly what we're doing) but you know a veto is a veto. I have been researching and debating for a few months total now, but I am feeling super stuck and would love some advice.

I drink 1-3 shots a day, either straight espresso, long black, filter 2.0, etc. On the weekends usually some flat whites and cortados for the wife and myself. I mostly enjoy medium to dark roasts. I prefer the chocolate nutty profiles, ever seeking for that cup of cake or candy bar in a cup. However, I do enjoy experimenting with light roasts when I see something extra funky or beans are gifted to me. I don't really plan on doing pour over with this grinder but it is something I have thought would be fun to be able to experiment with. The grinder is/will be paired with a Flair 58 and a Micra.

I have found, as many tend to mention, that flavors the Niche produces can be quite muddled, however I quite enjoy the body. It is very hard to pick any distinct notes from my beans. I am getting nice balanced tasty shots but it all kind of eventually tastes similar (absolutely could be user issues, I won't claim to be an expert). My biggest desire with a new grinder is something in that doesn't sacrifice too much body but does let me begin to pull distinct flavor notes (increase in clarity).