Grinder replacement advice

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
espressocon

#1: Post by espressocon »

Hi,

I have been brewing espresso for 9+ years with Rancilio Silvia and Baratza Preciso. Silvia has been rock solid; I had to do some repairs on my Preciso (motor, drive gear, adjustment ring and burr holder). I am not finding that I am in the lowest/finest setting for grinding and I am not getting good espresso (timing for one, shot comes a little too fast). Considering the burrs have not been replaced, I suspect burrs need replacement.

However, instead of burr replacement I am considering buying a new grinder and maybe giving this grinder to a family member who does drip or french press. Looking for advice on pairing the grinder with this espresso machine please. I was considering Sette 270 but would love to hear your thoughts. Baratza support/service has been excellent and would love to stick with them but it's not a requirement. No specific budget restrictions but also don't want to buy a 50,000 grinder and pair it with a Silvia :) You get what I mean. Thanks!!

tennisman03110

#2: Post by tennisman03110 »

The Sette 270 is one of the best values for a true espresso only grinder. If you like the support, don't mind the noise (it's loud), go for it.

They pop up on the buy/sell forum here from time to time.

espressocon (original poster)

#3: Post by espressocon (original poster) »

Hi, thanks for the response. I only make 2 shots a day. I don't think noise is an issue. However, I would much prefer a grinder that's rock solid in reliability to a grinder made from a company with great customer service even though the great CS is nice. What are my alternatives in the 400 to 600 range? I am in the US (North Carolina).

tennisman03110

#4: Post by tennisman03110 »

There's a few other grinders in the $400 - $600 range, though I have no experience.