Grinder recommendations on small(er) budget

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Arafel

#1: Post by Arafel »

Looking for some helpful recommendations. I work as a paramedic and switch stations every month. I have my old Starbucks Barista machine, and am looking for a grinder to pair with it. I'm not looking to spend much, because down the line I plan to buy a high-end single dose (Lagom, Versalab, or Monolith) and use my current Eureka Silenzio as my workstation grinder. Because of that, I'm not looking to spend much. Items I've considered include the Breville Smart Pro, Sette 30, and even the Vario or Encore. Like I said, hoping to just get a semi-decent grinder to tide me over for up to six months. Anybody have any ideas?

luvmy40

#2: Post by luvmy40 »

I got good results with the Smart Grinder Pro with medium to dark roasts and my BDB. It struggles with light roasts and realy won't grind fine enough for a light roast anyway.

Another option might be the Ascaso iMini. The newest version with the metal upper burr carrier/adjustment ring does a pretty good job for the money. I modified one for single dosing and used it for a few months untl I got the Niche Zero. The retention on it, un adulterated is a bit high in comparison to the NZ but with a few taps and forward tilt, it's acceptable.

There are several hand grinders that are in the $200+/- range that get good reviews. I'm waiting on the Arco from Goat Story on the kickstarter myself. I have the Timemore Chestnut slim and it does OK for my travel rig with the Flare Pro2 but the adjustments are a bit coarse and you have dance with dosing to really dial it in.

Hope this is of some help.

Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »