Grinder on a seriously small budget

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
John Carlo Bellotti

#1: Post by John Carlo Bellotti »

Hi everyone- I'm a newbie to this site so please be patient with me. I love coffee (don't we all?) I am fortunate to live in Australia very close to Melbourne with some amazing coffee houses, but I still love making coffee at home.

I have an old set up which I have had since about the year 2000! I have the original Gaggia Classic (which I have just recently upgraded the team wand to a manual steam wand) My grinder is also a Gaggia : La Gaggia MM, which for the time seemed like a good idea. I realise that I could do better regarding machinery but the reality is I simply do not have the cash at the moment and what cash I have spare is put towards other stuff. The Gaggia classic makes an acceptable coffee but the grinder by all accounts simply isn't performing to allow me to get the best out of my machine. All reviews and forums see to say the same thing: the MM just doesn't make the bean a fine enough ground for espresso.

I also to be honest HATE the collections basin for the ground coffee on the MM (HOWEVER, I have had it for nearly 20 yers and it has never let me down. Knowing my luck it will probably last another 20 years and my wife will never give me the green light for another grinder!!! - We have all been there at one time or another)

So, the question is WHICH grinder will work with what I have? I would like a grinder that will work well for espresso and grinds directly into the portafilter basket rather than a basin. I have looked at two grinders that I think seem to be pretty good but again they are at the very very top of any budget I can convince my wife to let me spend. The ISOMAC Professionale grinder and the LELIT PL43.

I would be really grateful if ANYONE could offer any advice or thoughts on this matter.

Wishing you all the best,

Kindest Regards,

John

luvmy40

#2: Post by luvmy40 »