First espresso machine, please help!

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
DoNoHarm

#1: Post by DoNoHarm »

Hello,

Looking to buy my first espresso machine and based on the information I found on this forum I narrowed it down to the next 4 models (I am not planning on customizing machine myself, so no self installation of PID) :
- Gaggia classic ($450)
- Lelit Anna ($630)
- Rancilio silvia ($660, there is a 10% discount at SCG)
- Crossland CC1 ($630, there is a 10% discount at SCG)
I am leaning towards Crossland CC1 due to built in PID and pre-infusion. I have no previous experience in making espresso myself and looking for a reliable machine that can serve for 2-3 years before I decide if I want to upgrade or if I am getting what is enough for me from an entry level machine. I will pair it with an entry level grinder at a price point of $250 - $300 depending on what I will find in stock / on sale. My weekly consumption is between 5 - 10 espresso shots and maybe 1 - 2 cappuccinos if I want something with milk (no sugar, no creamer if it makes a difference). I know that each machine has it own drawbacks, but would highly appreciate any suggestions for complete newbie.

Thanks!

Advertisement
luvmy40

#2: Post by luvmy40 »

So, you have a coffee habit. Not up for debate. the question is this; Will you enjoy making great coffee drinks with your own equipment, or will you find that the Cafe experience is part and parcel with the habit?

Obviously, you will have to buy some gear and find out.

I, personally after close to 30 years of dealing with this addiction, would recommend skipping the "Entry Level" stuff. There are a few reasons for this attitude.

1. You will not learn how to make great coffee with entry level equipment. You will learn how to make mediocre coffee and spend a lot of time and money and deal with lots of frustration in the process.