First coffee grinder for undergrad student on a budget!

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
dsmullan

#1: Post by dsmullan »

Hi guys, I'm rather new to the coffee world and very new to the HB community, but it seems like a great place and I wanted to start off by saying that there is enough information here to keep me learning for a couple years I think.

That being said, one thing that has been made clear to me is the need for a coffee grinder. Now, I am currently an undergrad student and money is extremely hard to come by. I know that buying a blade grinder would be next to useless, but I was thinking about a capresso infinity that I can get for $115 + shipping.

Is this a good deal or are there other grinders I should look into? I know most people recommend going with nothing less than a rocky, but that's money that I just don't have right now. If there are any other suggestions that would run under 200 with shipping and taxes in I would love to hear them.

Thanks in advance,

Devin

uscfroadie
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by uscfroadie »

Get a hand grinder. They are well under your budget, don't need electricity, and will be a great first grinder for someone on a budget. I have a Peter Dienes (PeDe) that I bought for traveling. It's small and was only 22 Euros (about $30). Grind quality is not quite as good as my Mazzer, but it's much better than you'd get from a cheap *burr* grinder. Another quality name brand is a Zassenhaus. I'm sure there are many others, but if you search eBay for PeDe and Zassenhaus, you'lll have quite a few choices. Good luck.
Merle

dsmullan (original poster)

#3: Post by dsmullan (original poster) »

Thanks for the advice! I was looking at some hand grinders, but wasn't sure if they would provide comparable grind quality and consistency versus the newer electric styles. I guess they were making great coffee before electricity though so it makes sense that the higher end manual ones would be good.