Espresso machine for budget around $300

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
storky

#1: Post by storky »

Hello All,

I've been searching for some time for the best option of an espresso machine and I was hoping to get your advice on the matter.

As a background: I have no experience in professional machines, therefore I would go for something as simple as possible. I would mostly use it either for latte (70%) or simple espresso (30%). My current reference in a "good latte" is the one from Gloria Jeans'.

What would you recommend under the circumstances? As far as I've searched so far, Gaggia was a preferred option or the Delonghi EC155. I also liked the FrancisFrancis X6 - due to the fact that i like Illy, mostly, but I've seen mixed reviews about it. And it only works with pods...

Looking forward to your advice and thank you !

Bluecold

#2: Post by Bluecold »

You want espresso, which is inherently a tedious and expensive way to brew coffee, as simple and cheap as possible.
Good drip coffee is not inferior to espresso*, cheaper and easier. I don't know how easy it is to buy a Chemex in Romania, but something similar should suit you better.
LMWDP #232
"Though I Fly Through the Valley of Death I Shall Fear No Evil For I am at 80,000 Feet and Climbing."

BPlus: turning your coffee spirit
Sponsored by BPlus
sweaner
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by sweaner »

If your total budget for both machine and grinder is really only $300, then I would suggest the following:

Espresso: Mypressi TWIST
Grinder: Good hand grinder
Milk steamer: Stovetop steamer, maybe a cheap steam espresso machine for steaming only.
Scott
LMWDP #248

TrlstanC

#4: Post by TrlstanC »