Entry level commercial espresso machine and grinder

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
CoffeeAficionado

#1: Post by CoffeeAficionado »

Hello,

I am looking for a set of commercial espresso machine and a grinder to start practicing pulling shots and latte art at home.

The goal is to open a quality coffee shop in Luxembourg by January 2021. I am mentioning this as it would make sense if the entry level machine can be somehow useful for the cafe business later on.

Experience:
I have read 'The world atlas of coffee' and 'The professional barista's handbook' and took a one week roasting, brewing and barista course at 'The espresso academy' in Florence. Now eager to start pulling shots at home!

Primary idea was to buy the machine to be used in the cafe directly, but as I have no experience at all, this was crossed out. Prefer to have a few months of experimenting at home on a single group machine and then make the final decision on the best buy for the cafe.

Also, knowing that I aim for that perfect shot (to have maximum freedom and control over the extraction) please advice if I should start with a lever or a pump machine? (Or practice on both if it makes sense)

Ideal budget for the first investment would be 5000-7000 eur, with the possibility to stretch up to 10 000 eur.

My motivation:
- genuine affection towards coffee (the more I discover, the more I get hooked up on it)
- lack of quality coffee shops in Luxembourg (desire to share the passion and bring more good coffee possibilities to the like-minded in the area)

All advice is welcome, thank you!

millmountain

#2: Post by millmountain »