Don't Travel : Comandante C40/Kinu M47 -> Niche Zero?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
YeetSkeeterson

#1: Post by YeetSkeeterson »

Title says it all. I don't travel. I really don't mind the hand grind except when I have to grind a 30g pour over using a light roast, it's not awful but it borders on obnoxious.

I have read performance tests on the Comandante that claim its distribution is extremely good, top of the line really.

With that said, would you ever trade the duo for a Niche Zero if you never have to travel? Any reason to keep them though I don't travel, related to in the cup performance?

erik82

#2: Post by erik82 »

I've got extensive experience with all 3 and the Commandante really is by far the best grinder for pourover. Niche is nice for medium to dark roast espresso but those big conicals don't perform really well for pourover. The Kinu M47 is by far the worst option of the three.

If you'd want better pourover results and an electrical grinder look into singledose flat burr grinder with 64mm of greater unimodal burrsets. Or do a Bunnzilla project.

Advertisement
YeetSkeeterson (original poster)

#3: Post by YeetSkeeterson (original poster) »

Do you have any data on why the Kinu is worse at espresso than the Niche? I use them exclusively, Comandante for coffee, Kinu for espresso.

drH

#4: Post by drH »

I can add one more point of view for what it's worth.
I have a Comandante and also had a Niche for almost a year. Side by side, with the medium and medium-dark beans I prefer, I'd be hard pressed to tell the difference between them for espresso. But I agree with Erik about the pour-overs: for reasons I can't explain (and I know others may strongly disagree), I just didn't like the taste of my pour-overs with the Niche. That was actually the main reason I bought the Comandante.
The Comandante has been awesome for pour-over, so problem solved.