Decent DE1 vs Lever?

Recommendations for espresso equipment buyers and upgraders.
Ric858

Postby Ric858 » Aug 08, 2019, 4:06 pm

I've been using a profitec pro 700 for the last several years and I've recently started contemplating a machine upgrade. I find myself torn between getting a DE1 pro vs a nice lever (haven't settled on which one, but Londinium R has me intrigued.) I'm really leaning lever for its simplicity, ease of use, shot quality, etc. However, if I'd be able to create better shots with a DE1 and all it's pressure profiling bells and whistles, then that's the way I'm gonna go. So my question to you, HB'ers, is is there a better tasting shot to be had with a DE1 vs what you can make with a quality lever machine?
"Coffee is the lifeblood that fuels the dreams of champions."

forbeskm

Postby forbeskm » Aug 08, 2019, 5:13 pm

You just stated you want the bells and whistles, a lever is so not for you :). Don't take it the wrong way.

Janika79

Postby Janika79 » Aug 08, 2019, 5:45 pm

Get the flow control upgrade for your pro700 and you can emulate lever shots and don't have to buy a new machine.
★ Helpful

Ric858

Postby Ric858 » Aug 08, 2019, 9:19 pm

forbeskm wrote:You just stated you want the bells and whistles, a lever is so not for you :). Don't take it the wrong way.

Actually, just to clarify, I'd want the extra bells and whistles only if they allowed me to consistently produce tastier shots than what I'd get from a lever. If lever and de1 tie for taste and consistency, then I'm going lever.

Ric858

Postby Ric858 » Aug 08, 2019, 9:21 pm

Janika79 wrote:Get the flow control upgrade for your pro700 and you can emulate lever shots and don't have to buy a new machine.

I like the flow control idea, but repeatability is very important to me. Do you have one? How consistent are your results?

MB

Postby MB » Aug 08, 2019, 9:59 pm