Decent DE1 - New buyer advice

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Petraidm

#1: Post by Petraidm »

i will admit, I am a newbie but eager and willing to learn. I will be purchasing a Decent De1 white xl as soon as I receive notification the the Niche grinder I ordered shipped. I have a Saeco Xelsis Superauto which I used for number of years but I want great coffee and have the time and desire for the hobby now that I am retiring. I have never been able to pull a good shot on the Saeco and it is used mostly for Americano's and Lungos. I have never been able to pull the different flavors out of different beans so I typically just use KoffeKult beans. Given this, here is the advice I would like from Decent Owners:

1) What two beans do you recommend I start out with? (One should be a chocolatey comfort blend like full cycle or GMC. The other should be something with a different taste profile or a different comfort blend)
2) What two profiles would you suggest what are the suggested starting variables (e.g. dosage, temperature yield .. etc)

I will stick with just these two beans and profiles until I get consistent and fully understand the machine. My goal will to get a consistent "normalized shot" nailed down using the two profile then tweak the variables (one at a time) to understand how each variable affects taste. I will be testing the shots straight, as an americano and in milk drinks.

I really just want to minimize frustrations at the beginning. Anything will probably be better than what I can make with my existing machine.

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

Stick with what you have been drinking to be able to get a better feel for the machine. Then instead of aiming at some specific flavor profile the sky's the limit. Without searching out some specific flavor, explore!
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

MNate

#3: Post by MNate »