Dalla Corte Mina in the USA vs Rocket R9 One vs Other?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Thermosiphon

#1: Post by Thermosiphon »

Hi everyone,

I really love the DC Mina. It's a little bit more than I was hoping to spend on my next machine, but I wanted something that was auto volumetric and also allowed manual or automatic, repeatable, flow profiling to experiment with.

This appears to be the only machine to do all of those things, without compromises yet practical for home use, at its price or less. Correct me if I'm wrong. (Yes the Lelit Bianca and GS3 MP and Decent DE1+ all do some but not all of those things. The only alternative seems to be the Rocket R9 One but which only profiles pressure and also appears slapdash in the engineering/design department according to some folks who work with distributors I've spoken to.)

Anyway: I have been saving for this machine for 2 years and was so excited to buy one from Clive Coffee. Last week I decided to purchase and imagine my chagrin when the only place to buy in the USA was Whole Latte Love.

I've ordered with them in the past, don't get me wrong, but I'm a little wary of the support given I live in California and they're in upstate New York.

Would you go for the Mina even though you only had one option for vendor/support? Would you go for the Rocket and save some money even though it has tons of solenoid valves and breakable parts?
Cheers,
Bill

cafe102

#2: Post by cafe102 »