Confessions of a PID Silvia Owner (upgrade fever)

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
sru_tx

#1: Post by sru_tx »

Hello. I'm Steve and I'm an electrical engineer who enjoys tinkering.

{group response} HI STEVE!

I started out with a stock Silvia and Rocky. After a year of learning that good espresso is elusive, I started home roasting, first with a stock air roaster, then modded for better temp control, and finally to a 4# drum roaster. My hand basket was packed and I was on my way to coffee hell!

I've been with Silvia for nearly 5 years now. As finicky as she is, she's taught me well. I learned to surf with her. I PID'd her two years ago and now my wife enjoys her too. (I didn't even KNOW she was into that :shock: ). I even bought her nice bottomless PF for Valentine's Day. But lately I've been getting the urge do a little more.....

It started out innocent enough. My wife left town to 3 weeks on business so I figured it was time give Silvia a little more attention. I was planning on adding a boiler pre-heater using some copper tubing and the heat from the boiler to help stabilize boiler temperature. Simple enough. I hit a snag along the way. While doing some testing I realized that there was some water coming out of that mysterious second line in the reservoir. What the ?

After a lot of reading and searching archives on various forums I finally found my answer. OVP!!! I didn't even know she had an OVP. Once again, Silvia is teaching me more about espresso. The OVP changed the whole concept of preheating the boiler water. I had calculated the tubing to have enough water pre-heated to be nearly equal the volume of a shot (2-2.5 oz.); however, with the OVP bypassing water means there's a lot more water moving through the coil than expected. What to do?