Compak K3 Touch or Macap MC4 Doserless

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
pravspresso

#1: Post by pravspresso »

http://www.greenbeanery.ca/bean/catalog ... ts_id=6443

OR

http://www.zcafe.ca/site/Product.aspx?ID=386

I'm currently using my Rancilio Rocky with a soon to come Alexia with PID.

I have no experience with either. I had read a lot on the Macap but not much on the Compak K3.

Other then rave reviews on seller's websites which i read with caution (Compak K3).

My brain says go with the consistent proven performer (Macap).

Any ideas?

RAS

#2: Post by RAS »

May not be saying what you want to here, but I'm really questioning if going with either would be a significant improvement - if any at all. Though I've not used a Rocky, it seems that all you're getting with either the Macap or K3 would be a doserless spout. Same burr size. The Rocky sure has a following, and it seems well deserved.

Unless that money is burning a hole in your pocket, I'd suggest saving until you can step into something more (see the Titan Grinder Project thread).
Bob

Tag Team Jesus

#3: Post by Tag Team Jesus »

Not entirely true: Rocky has 50 mm flat burrs while Macap and Compak K3 have 58 mm flat burrs.

Also, I think the stepless adjustment is one of the most significant upgrades going from a Rocky to one of these other grinders.

HB
Admin

#4: Post by HB »

pravspresso wrote:I had read a lot on the Macap but not much on the Compak K3.
If doserless is a must, then I would continue researching the Compak K3 Touch. Doserless grinders, as a class, clump more than their doser counterparts. I tried the Macap MC4 and it was a worse clump monster than the Rancilio Rocky doserless. That said, the Macap doserless does have its fans, most notably Ian (cafeIKE), who recommends grinding per dose. He posted a photo of his "snout clearing tool" in the thread Have Rancilio Rocky, looking for an alternative (willing to pay more):