Coffee grinder - P64 for both espresso and filter, or two separate

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Yoda

#1: Post by Yoda »

Hi all,

so I am looking to upgrade my grinder - for a few years I have been using C40, but I feel a need to get something not-manual :)

Currently, I am doing well over 80% of pour overs, as I am quite new to espresso at home, but planning to get a better machine at some point in the future - potentially this year. With the pour overs, I tend to have a few coffees opened at the same time, so a single dose is a must for me. Also, as I am mainly into filters coffee (right now), I am looking for a flat burr grinder.
Having that in mind, and after my research, I struggle to decide, whether it is worth it for me to go for a grinder like P64, use it for pour overs mainly, and occasionally switch to espresso, or even do espresso grinding in C40 with RC, and keep p64 for pour over only, or would it be overkill, and totally not worth money?
The alternative that I am considering, was getting something filter coffee dedicated - like Ode, save money, and get another grinder for espresso, once I would feel that my C40 is not enough.
Maybe there are other pour over grinders, that could be occasionally used for espresso that I was not considering?

Looking forward to hearing some ideas :) Thanks!

Coffee_hound

#2: Post by Coffee_hound »

I have been using a DF64 for espresso, aeropress, filter coffee and have been quite happy.
When doing research I read many posts suggesting you have to have a dedicated espresso grinder to avoid the pain of re-dialing in your espresso settings after using the grinder for anything else. I am grinding for espresso 90% of the time however if I feel like an aeropress or pot of filter I have found it easy to adjust the grinder and almost everytime I can return to my previous espresso settings with no impact to my shot timing.