Choosing a thermocouple for a La Peppina

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
ddr

#1: Post by ddr »

Hi Folks,
I decided to play around with temperature control on my "new" La Peppina. I bought a Fujitsu PXR3 and SSR, and the dealer threw in a "K type thermocouple with a short lead wire". I was happy to have any TC, especially for free, so I can play around with this new gizmo while I figure out (ha, figure out; I have not done much figuring out of things for a while, it is easier to ask other people!) what TC to buy for the La Peppina's open boiler design.

My first question is: Should I get a submersible TC and drop it into the open boiler, or should I attach one somewhere else? I do not feel comfortable tapping a hole for a screw in probe.

My second question is: Once I know submersible or not, how do I decide what type (K, J, RTD, etc.) to use?

I have never used a PID before, although I think I understand the math behind it.

As always, thanks for your help,
Dan
Dan
LMWDP #242

cafeIKE

#2: Post by cafeIKE »

T thermocouples are good for the espresso temperature range. The thinner the TC, the quicker the response.

A TC outside of the boiler has more hysteresis than one in the tank. How finely you want to control the boiler temperature dictates where you place the sensor. Any outside mounting point must have good thermal tracking of the boiler. If you mount to the boiler, ensure that the contact is robust and not likely to come loose.

Bluecold

#3: Post by Bluecold »

I've got a PT100 RTD because wikipedia said it was better. And it gives (gave :cry: ) me .1C readout on my auberins controller which TC's didn't.
Just drop it in the tank. Don't drill a hole, you'll probably crack the enamel.
LMWDP #232
"Though I Fly Through the Valley of Death I Shall Fear No Evil For I am at 80,000 Feet and Climbing."

JB130

#4: Post by JB130 »