Choosing an Espresso Machine Rationally

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
LittleCoffee

#1: Post by LittleCoffee »

Hi All,
First time poster here. Rather than go with the usual Machine 1 vs Machine 2 first post, I thought I'd try and run through my thought process of how I got to a machine (drum roll, the result is at the end of this post!). I've found the forum an invaluable aid to stitching my thought process together, but that said at least for me, there is a lot of hearsay about build quality, machine choice etc. which is impossible to split into logic vs. emotion. In a topic which lends itself as well to OCD as well as espresso, this is an unhelpful mix. I'm a big fan of trying to be objectively rational - although that takes an immense amount of energy (and thus is not always practical), I still think there's value in the process.

A bit about me. I studied general engineering and the thought of ripping apart an espresso machine (or repairing my car) by myself doesn't scare me in the slightest. This may well not be you though so read this post for what it is - an engineer trying to rationally select an espresso machine, not having owned one previously.

First off, it seems to me the whole approach to upfront cost most people have leaves something to be desired. Should I spend X, Y or X+100 to get the wooden accent or X+300 for the wooden accent and flow control device although potentially reasonable at the margin doesn't strike me as the best place to start. For me, the rational place to start is relative cost of machine vs. beans per coffee. Why? Because it provides a good framework to hang your expectations of how long the machine will last, your usage of it, its up front cost against something that's easy to compute today which is how much the beans which end up in your cup cost.