Ceado E37S versus E37SD

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Qrumcof

#1: Post by Qrumcof »

I'm hoping to get advice on which to buy (I have no experience with either grinder; only online research).

The grinders seem substantially similar.. the SD adds titanium burrs and a slightly slower rpm, and the single dose hopper (I believe it's a slightly different motor as well). I get the impression Ceado tested the machine in a lab and chose the RPMs to optimize the titanium burr (but $2400 is hard to swallow).

But what does this mean for a home user like me, who might have one coffee per day sometimes two? And I probably will want to change out the coffee more than most. If I find a favorite coffee and just leave beans in the hopper, I guess all I need to do is grind a few grams (to purge the grounds out of the burrs) each morning. But I like to "optimize." So the E 37SD is calling out to me.

When I buy coffee, I plan to split it up into quarters or thirds and store them in the freezer (I know double bag, airtight, let them come to room temperature before opening the bag, etc.).. Most likely (with either machine) I will store the beans I'm using at room temperature at the grinder. And then use a scale when I want to measure a dose for grinding.

But I see a lot of posts where those more experienced than I are complaining that is just too much trouble to use the single dosing method. So what are the pros and cons of perhaps using the E37S in single dosing mode, and then when I get tired of that I would have the option of storing beans in the hopper?

At this price point can there really be much difference in the cup b/t the two machines? (Like with home stereo equipment, once you reach a certain price point a $10,000 amplifier may only give you 5% improvement).