Budget of $1000 - which espresso machine for husband's birthday?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
avamtel

#1: Post by avamtel »

Hi Gang-
Im a total newbie been reading the forums to try to figure out what machine to get my husband for his birthday. I've obsessed over this for a while now and here is what I've come up with: Either a Used Vibiemme Super HX Tank Domobar (2006 manufacture demo) or a new Bezzera BZ02S or Bezzera BZ07spm. Can't believe I'm considering spending this much (about 1,000) but want to be able to serve 6 cups or more of cap. when we entertain. Started by looking at the Silvia but that purchase might lead to rapid onset upgraditis. The Vibiemme looks awesome but concerned about used aspect.

jpreiser

#2: Post by jpreiser »

Do you already have an espresso-capable grinder or does that need to be factored into your budget?

As others will tell you, a good grinder is as important - if not more so - than the machine for good espresso production.

nitpick

#3: Post by nitpick »

What do you (or your husband) anticipate making mostly? If you'll use the steamer infrequently (i.e. don't make a lot of steamed-milk drinks) then I think the Silvia is the way to go plus a good grinder like a Vario or Rocky. The combo will come in right about $1000.

As I see it, the Silvia has the most potential as it's a real boiler machine (i.e. no thermoblock) and, if you don't need steam, is readily adaptable to PID control for the silvia's only real weak point which is temperature control. The other features of the Silvia, including the full-sized (58mm E61 grouphead) and overall robust construction aren't matched by anything else in its price rance.