Bezzera Duo/Matrix DE vs Crem One - 2B R-LFPP Dual

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
rusty-pie

#1: Post by rusty-pie »

I'm thinking of upgrading my machine. Currently on a Bezzera BZ99S coupled with a Baratza Sette 270wi. I drink mainly espresso or long black, with the occasional milk based drink. Having to pull shots in succession is rather rare.

The features on my must have list are: great group thermal stability, volumetric dosing, preinfusion, and a tanked machine. I've spent a fair bit of time searching online and the two options I have found are Bezzera Duo/Matrix DE and the new Crem One - 2B R-LFPP Dual.

Both machines seem to have a very good and comparable build quality The pros and cons from my perspective are:

BEZZERA
PRO's:
- I really like the concept of 3 pid technology and electrically heathed group; sounds on paper an excellent solution to control one of the most influential parameter of coffee brewing.
- I have no personal experience, but the design of the Bezzera proprietary group is said to be much easier to clean having basically no moving parts and of a much simpler design compared to the E61 on the Crem One.
- quicker warm up
CON's:
- I've read contrasting opinions on the Bezzera pre-infusion method which injects a small quantity of water in the puck and then waits for a number of seconds before resuming the flow, which someone argues not to be real preinfusion.
- Susceptibility of the screen to the hot-humid environment of the machine also appears to have caused some failures but this might have been resolved in latest production.
- No profiling.

CREM ONE
PRO's:
- The shot profile can be customised to great extent based on volumetric phases, allowing to experiment with different grinds without changing the memorised profile without deleterious consequence.
- Great potential for experimentation!
- E61 group is well and truly tested.
- Machine firmware is easily upgradable.
CON's: