Best Grinder for Cold Brew

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
miwillhite

#1: Post by miwillhite »

I'm relatively new to coffee, so please excuse my ignorance ;)

I want to start bottling some cold brew coffee at a small level (selling in local markets and famers markets).

I've been reading that a small particle size distribution is very important (for any good coffee really) and I'm investigating grinders.

I'm looking at the Mahlkönig K30 and EK43 grinders. Are those overkill? They seem to have the best stats (without going industrial), but everything I see is measured for espresso.

Advice is much appreciated!

ryuemura

#2: Post by ryuemura »

I would recommend the EK43 for it's particle distribution and its incredibly fast grinding speed. You could also look into the SSP burrs if quality is on the top of your priority list. The K30 is an espresso grinder, which I would not recommend for this purpose. As you mentioned, you would like to do some small scale distribution, so I'm assuming that you're going to go with the "Toddy" style route. You will be grinding 5-7lbs of coffee for each brew. so this is where the EK will shine, it should only take about 1 minute to grind. Good luck!

ira
Team HB

#3: Post by ira »

If I recall correctly, Ditting makes a grinder specifically for cold brew.

Ira

HoldTheOnions

#4: Post by HoldTheOnions »

I did a dozen or so immersion cold brews and it seemed the least demanding brew method I've tried so far, but anyone correct me if that is wrong. If you are brewing this way, then I'm thinking a used Bunn and new set of burrs would get the job done for cheap. The other way I don't know.

Séb

#5: Post by Séb »

I do some nitro cold brew that i sell in 5gal keg and i use either my Compak R100 or a Bunn G9 (i have few with original burrs and Ditting burrs). Still in tests phase myself. Money wise, a Bunn G9 with SSP burrs would be my pick and if higher budget the EK43 is easier to adjust your grind.