Best espresso machine/Baratza Sette 270W combo, budget < $3000?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
fpoulenc

#1: Post by fpoulenc »

I'm new to HB, but not espresso. My Silvia is 12 years old, on her 2nd boiler and 2nd pump, starting to leak, and it's time to move along. Just replaced Rocky's burrs, and grind seems pretty consistent, although clumpy. Temp surfing, bottomless PF, WDT, and other techniques from HB help me pull some really good shots on the Silvia, but looking to take it up a notch (or two). I am currently up to making 4-6 drinks everyday, including a few espressi, lattes, and macchiati for various family members. In addition to making better drinks, I need this process not to take 30 minutes.

My upgrade goals are:

- Brew temperature consistency!
- Simultaneous brew & steam
- reduce clumping with better grinder

I've considered a number of grinders (Forte, HB-1,Vario) but after watching the video below of the Baratza Sette 270, seeing the straight down path and the fluffy grind it produces, I want to roll the dice on the 270W when it comes out in July. Weight-based dosing directly into the PF sounds great! Happy to hear other suggestions, though.
I have gone back and forth among a number of machines, including:

- Breville Dual Boiler
- Profitec 300
- Alex Duetto III
- Profitec 700

I've heard the "toaster" argument on BRB, but after 12 years with Silvia it is clear (to me, at least) that the Breville's features (auto start, front fill option, swivel foot, etc.) add significant convenience. That's important in the wee small hours of the morning! I am concerned about what will happen after the 2-year warranty runs out, but maybe that will provide an opening to address some upgraditis? :wink:

The E61 machines look beautiful, but it's hard for me to tell if, say, the Profitec 700 is significantly better than Duetto III. Hoping some of you will share your experience on these DB machines.