Baratza Vario died

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
PlanetCC

#1: Post by PlanetCC »

Sadly, when I went to go grind a French press this morning, I found that my Vario motor had died. I've had this grinder for probably 10 years, I've been a little frustrated with the grind settings and think it's time to go to single-dose. So I'm in the market for a mid range grinder that can go from espresso to French press. Although I do Chemex on occasion where a larger basket might be needed but I can work around this. My budget is somewhere in the range of $500-$900.

So what are the experts advice for some machines I can consider? I am by no means an expert barista, but I am working on my game

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Getting a grinder that will do well for both in that price range will involve a lot of tradeoffs.

Some of the things that would help people help you consider those tradeoffs are:

* I'm not familiar with Groundwork. Are your espresso beans at all shiny? Do you use beans that they would sell as "filter" for espresso?

* How many espressos do you make in one session?

* What kinds of coffee do you use for French press?

* When you make French press, what weight of beans do you use for a batch?

PlanetCC (original poster)

#3: Post by PlanetCC (original poster) »

As for coffee, I am trying to find a local roaster that has some consistency. I started a new subscription in December and I'm still trying to decide where to source my beans. Typically the beans are not shiny, but I have opened an occasional bag where they are fairly oily.

I weigh my beans before and after the grind. However, if the machine can dial-in to where I can just get an espresso shot with some consistency, that would be nice.

I am not drinking a lot of coffee right now, usually a double shot espresso once or twice a day

If I have friends over, that's when I'll dig out the Chemex, but that is uncommon.