Affording coffee as a hobby

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
stherric

#1: Post by stherric »

I'm curious as to how everyone best approaches financing this great hobby. I'm fairly young without much capital so I've learned to live with what I've got but that doesn't mean I don't dream everyday of a Kafatek 80mm flat and a LMLM. What does everyone do to afford coffee as their hobby? Do people often finance machines, pay in cash, take out a second mortgage, etc.? Mostly kidding about the second mortgage :D . Does the increase in purchasing power come with age? Any insight is greatly appreciated!

Hudson

#2: Post by Hudson »

I'm a second year college student, so I can relate to where you're at. Not paying in cash you have in hand is a bad idea, for just about anything. I started out with a $300 dollar la Pavoni and pharos, quite affordable. I think it's important to buy things that make you happy but never to the point where you sacrifice things you need for your future. With that said here is how I'm able to afford now a hg-1 and brewtus IV.

- buy used. High end equipment isn't going to deteriorate much . Take you time and find good deals on this forum or Craig's list.

- work. I'm a computer science student and work as a software dev, pays well and I enjoy it.

- save up 'fun money'. Put some money aside for things you like to do liking dining, coffee, dates, etc.

- if you don't have a machine buy an old lever. You can fix it up and flip it for some cash after you're done if you shop smart and get a good deal,

- buy the more expensive, quality things once. This will be often be cheaper in the long run that buying something worse and replacing. Plus you'll enjoy it more.

Remember that purchasing power isn't a given. Put things you need first and work hard to afford things you want. Splurge sometimes and enjoy yourself. Just because you're a college student doesn't mean you can't have nice things.
LMWDP #534

Advertisement
day