Affordable Espresso Machine to Train On

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Timro71

#1: Post by Timro71 »

Eventually my daughter and I want to open a small cafe.

Any suggestions on a good home espresso machine that we could use to train on for the real thing?

thanks

dreadnatty08

#2: Post by dreadnatty08 »

Welcome! What's your budget?
This is a tricky question as answers can be all over the place. There's a lot of similarities with process and basics between home/prosumer espresso machines and a commercial setup, but quite a few differences. A La Marzocco Linea is pretty standard fare for a commercial cafe setup and they do make a home version (Linea Mini). However, it's still priced around $5-6k plus or minus. I think it's likely to give you the closest setup at home to how a commercial setup would be. It would also offer good resale value when you go to open.

Edit: I just want to add that I'm a baker by trade. Baking bread at home using either just a bowl and your hands or a Kitchen Aid and baking in a pot in a home oven is worlds apart from baking in a bakery. You'll learn the basics of fermentation, dough handling/shaping and scaling. But, when it comes to interacting with machinery like a large spiral mixer and a steam injected deck oven, you have to learn these things all over again. This would be similar to learning how to use an E61 brewhead or temperature surfing a Gaggia when you'll eventually be on a Linea or Synesso or whatever commercial machine; again, a lot more relearning will be involved.
★ Helpful

Jefe

#3: Post by Jefe »