Advice: Upgrading from Gaggia Classic

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
MylarBono

#1: Post by MylarBono »

I've been using a Gaggia Classic, with a PID, for about twenty years now (2002 model, I believe) and I'm finally thinking about upgrading, so I've come for advice.

I only make 2 - 3 espressos a day, one of which is usually a milk drink (I have to admit that I like making latte art); I never make more than two drinks in a row.

I take good care of my machine, and I clean it regularly, but at the same time, I don't enjoy doing maintenance, and the less I have to do mechanically, the better. Especially when it comes to internal work.

I had a barista-tech friend add the PID back in the day because the inconsistency was a real pain; I also added other things, such as a brass shower screen holding plate, new steam wand, etc.

I don't have a lot of space, so the new machine can't be too big. The more compact, the better (though not a deciding factor).

Price range between 1 - 2,000.

My current grinder is a Baratza Preciso.

I appreciate any help you can give...

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

What kinds of beans do you use? Do you think you'd want to explore lighter roasts?

Does your budget include a new grinder?

Other than temperature stability, what do you want to improve?

happycat

#3: Post by happycat »

You might get way more value for the dollar by upgrading your grinder instead of the Gaggia.
LMWDP #603

TigerStripes

#4: Post by TigerStripes »

@mylarbono it would be helpful to know what your goal are with upgrading. As happycat mentioned - if your goal is better espresso - upgrading your grinder will have a much larger impact on the quality of espresso in the cup.

It sounds like you do enjoy straight espresso shots - so I would recommend upgrading the preciso to a niche, vario, super jolly etc... before you pull the trigger on a new machine.