Advice on buying first good lever

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Word_salad

#1: Post by Word_salad »

Been drinking pour-over for a long time and recently got into espresso. I'm currently using a Lido e/t and a Rokpresso that I bought years ago and dug up from the basement. I can get passable shots from the Rok, and the quality has definitely improved since I got the lido, but I am ready for an upgrade. Unfortunately I am a poor grad student so my budget is around $600. I don't use milk so a steamer isn't necessary, and I only make 3-4 shots a day for myself. With this in mind I've seen a few choices that would fit

Cafelat Robot
Used La Pavoni
Flair

And Streitman CT1 (obviously way over budget, but it's an absolutely beautiful machine and if it pulls as good as it looks I'd be willing to save for a year or so/ wait for restock)

Also I will be using a wide range of beans (I roast with a behmor and I am fond of experimenting)

Any advice is greatly appreciated

happycat

#2: Post by happycat »

Word_salad wrote:Been drinking pour-over for a long time and recently got into espresso. I'm currently using a Lido e/t ... poor grad student so my budget is around $600. I don't use milk so a steamer isn't necessary, and I only make 3-4 shots a day
Best bang for the buck:

Flair classic signature with second portafilter and tamper
PID kettle

Good to go for probably half your budget. Spend the rest on coffee.
LMWDP #603

pGolay

#3: Post by pGolay »

I tried a Flair for a while and while I could make good coffee with it, the general fussiness of the process was just a bit past what I was willing to deal with on a day to day basis. I would guess the Robot is similar, and the ROK a step or two more fiddly, in my experience (I borrowed one for a week or three before the Flair). Hence, the CT-1 in my kitchen and the dent in the savings.
-PG

Word_salad (original poster)

#4: Post by Word_salad (original poster) »