Advice for a espresso machine. Budget ~1500 euros

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
phmcd

#1: Post by phmcd »

Hello,
I'm a complete newbie and never owned an espresso machine before. This month I bought the Sette 270 wi and next month I'm planning to buy an espresso machine. My budget for the machine alone is around 1500 euros.

My priorities are:
[*] I don't plan to entertain often
[*] the majority of my drinks are with milk
[*] as a mathematician I would like to really dive in and profile the variables to make a good shot (or avoid previous mistakes)
[*] aesthetics is not my biggest concern
[*] reliability. I want something that lasts and let me practice and advance without changing the machine.
[*] a machine that I only need run routine maintenance, I don't feel comfortable to open the machine and fix it myself.

I hope I'm not searching for a unicorn. Thanks in advance for the help.

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Hi Paulo, welcome to HB!

Your budget and your wish list leaves you many many options. Do you want only new or are you considering well built vintage gear? For a hard working, reliable and well built machine that heats up quickly, I often suggest simple home levers like a La Pavoni Europiccola. They steam well enough and the shots can be tweaked quite a bit because it's manually driven.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

phmcd (original poster)

#3: Post by phmcd (original poster) »

Hi Tom, thanks for your suggestion. I would prefer buying something new

TomC
Team HB

#4: Post by TomC replying to phmcd »