$600 budget for best possible broken/repairable espresso machine.

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
nicolatesla02

#1: Post by nicolatesla02 »

PRIMER: Apologies if this has been covered at length and I missed it.

THE SITUATION: I want to get as close to real espresso at home as my budget allows. At the advice of this forum, I've spent a good chunk of my budget on the grinder (found a Mazzer SJ *new* for $550 w/s+h). FYI, Chris' Coffee has a Mothers Day special right now thru 5/15/16 for the Mazzer mini doser new for $485 (wish I would have seen before my purchase).

Any who, now I need the best possible Espresso Machine, and, unless I'm told it is a terrible idea, I'd like to take the route of buying a good broken machine and repairing it. I've rebuilt a commercial machine before from the ground up (frame rebuild, pump rebuilt, completely disassembled and cleaned all piping, heating element changed, etc.). I did this because I am a product designer and want to design for the espresso world. I would like to make an affordable home roaster, and a truly affordable well-built espresso machine. In order to do this, I need to get serious about making espresso, and better coffee in general at home. Are there any suggestions for machines I could get that need some repair whose parts are pretty available? I almost picked up a broken ECM Giotto for around $450, but realized it was local pickup only and about 1000 miles away. Would that have been a good deal?