Does coffee to water ratio account for water retained in grounds?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Zoran

#1: Post by Zoran »

I'm just beginning my foray into specialty coffees and my first purchase was an Ethiopian Harrar from a local roaster who listed it on his website as having a "very light" roast. I was extremely excited to get my first taste of "real" coffee but so far every cup I've made has had, to different degrees, had a sour/bitter taste (I'm not really sure yet how to distinguish between the two).

On his website, the roaster recommended "Aeropress 198" as the preferred brew method which I took to mean the temperature of the water, though from the posts on here that seems pretty low for a light roast. I tried using that temperature with 15g ground at 14 on my Virtuoso, with 225g of water. I also followed Nick Cho's recommendation of 40g, ground at 18 on my Virtuoso, with 552 grams of water and a 3:00 - 3:30 brew time. Both methods retained a "sour" taste.

The one way I've found to lessen the sourness is to add some water afterwards, which brings me to my question. When we're talking about a water to coffee ratio (for any method), does that account for the water retained in the grounds? Or do we need to compensate for that by adding water to the final cup? Just asking because I don't think I've ever seen that clarified. Thanks!

MWJB

#2: Post by MWJB »

I'm unsure from your post as to what brewer you are using? Aeropress or Kalita Wave (Nick Cho's recipe?).

Temperature of the water will drop as it hits the coffee & brewer, so maybe aim a little hotter for drip (94-96C/200-205F)

The water retained in the grounds is more related to brew time, longer brews = more retained. Also whether the brewer drains under gravity, or whether the brew is pushed out under pressure (Aeropress/siphon) has a bearing. I have seen more water retained in truncated cones & flat bottomed cones than in Chemex/Hario "V" cones too.