Ponte Vecchio Lusso Basket

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
epurc

#1: Post by epurc »

I am the recent purchaser of a Ponte Vecchio Lusso, and have been enjoying it so far! I am still learning the equipment, much less how to pull decent shots with it. (I will start a "PVL shots" thread soon after I play with it a bit more :) )

My question is as follows. Online most people seem to suggest that the machine comes with only 2 baskets, described as as "double" and a "single". My machine actually came with three -- a small (with walls that slope inwards), a medium (also with inward-sloping walls, but deeper) and a large (a much deeper basket with walls that are orthogonal to the bottom of the basket).

The small seems so shallow as to be utterly useless -- I can't imagine decent coffee coming from it. I am thus wondering if perhaps my medium is what others refer to as the "single" (or, if my machine had only come with two, it would have come with just the 2nd deepest and deepest of the 3 I have, which would then have been the "single" and the "double").

I ask because I have had trouble getting 16g into the triple, and even when I do, the puck is unevenly saturated (I dose directly from my Vario). In fact, it's not even really a puck, as it comes out of the basket in layers with obvious channeling. People seem to suggest that they were able to updose and get 16g into what they refer to as the "double", which, if it's the same as my double, seems quite impossible :) I prefer ristretto so would would be helpful to figure this mystery out!

JayCarver

#2: Post by JayCarver »