The possibility of good espresso on a small budget

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
nile24

#1: Post by nile24 »

Hello HB!
I'm a newbie to the espresso world and have been reading extensively on hb to learn about the art of making espresso. After a couple months I finally bought my first machine, a Gaggia Old White Coffee paired with a vintage dienes hand grinder. It's a humble and low budget set up to start but overall I've very happy with the result. My goal going in with this setup is if it can produce better espresso then 95% of the espresso I'm buying at coffee shops then I consider it a win. I also like to make cappas for my wife and I and so far she's loving the cappa. As a side note I do roast my own beans and have only been using SO. So if you are a newbie looking to get started on a smaller budget that its possible to produce good shots and have fun while doing it. However I do look foward to one day owning a nice lever machine :D

canuckcoffeeguy

#2: Post by canuckcoffeeguy »

Good to hear. Home barista training is a journey and everyone takes a different path. I started with a Moka pot, then got into espresso with a Mypressi Twist and modified Hario Slim hand grinder. Not an ideal setup, but I made it work with a lot of work. Then I invested in a Vario grinder and that helped a lot, particularly relieving me of all the manual grinding. Then I made a big leap to my HX machine and commercial grinder. And I'm still learning lots.

The best thing about better equipment is the greater consistency, better control over the important variables and less workarounds.

Enjoy your trip down the rabbit hole.

kaldi61

#3: Post by kaldi61 »

Welcome to the HB family, for what a welcome from another newbie is worth!