Quest M3 and Roasting time

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
wrz0170

#1: Post by wrz0170 »

Hi everyone!

So I am having some fun with my new Quest M3 and have only 5 roasts under the belt with three different "recipes". I am totally new to this so please forgive my newbee questions but just want to make sure I am on the right track as I begin my journey and find my own work flow. One method, I think the roast actually stalled because after 20+ minutes, nothing. Ramp was REALLY slow. Never even made it to 200C after 20 minutes. Wound up dumping it in the garbage.

What I have:
Quest M3
Monitoring BT and MET with EricS thermocouples.
Using Roastmaster App with Bluetherm Duo
Using SM Columbia Tres Organic Parques-Apia

1. I sort of did back to back roast. Sort of because after the first, I took my time by dumping the first, throwing it in a colander after cooling and kneading it to get some more chaff then took a little time prepping the second. My question here is my first roast ended at 11:38. When I finally started the second, First Crack began at 4:39 and I ended it at 6:48. The cracks were sparse for the lack of better terms. For Quest users, would this be normal for subsequent roasts or did I do something wrong? I am assuming the drum was still very warm from the first therefore a quicker turnaround?

2. For Quest users, on the fan side, there is a green line on the knob where at the 12 O'clock being zero, but at max, it falls short of the 10, about 8.6 on the index at max. Would this be the norm?

3. The drying phase I read about. Is this where the bean goes from green to about a yellowish color? Is this part of the curve where it begins it ascend upward after leveling out or is it from drop to ascending?