Quickmill Anita overheating and wet steam problems

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
lel

#1: Post by lel »

I have Quickmill Anita that I've been using for almost 6 years. No major repairs were done, just replacing of rubber parts, insulation and tubing. Recently it developed 2 problems:

1. Overheating. The machine runs too hot. Often the pump does not start because thermal fuse prevents it from running. When I remove an outer metal shell and expose the internal parts everything works fine. What could be the problem and what should be replaced/adjusted?

2. Wet steam. Sometimes the steam is too wet and water squirts from a steam wand not just in a first few seconds but continuously together with a steam. If I let water run from a water wand the pump does not start until about 10 oz of water is drained. After draining a water steam quality immediately gets better - clean and not wet anymore. Same question here - what could be a problem and what to replace?

Thank you for your help.

cuppajoe

#2: Post by cuppajoe »

When was it last descaled?
David - LMWDP 448

My coffee wasn't strong enough to defend itself - Tom Waits

lel (original poster)

#3: Post by lel (original poster) »

I have descaled it only once, after 3 or 4 years of use. There was no scale at all in the group and the water from boiler was only slightly colored. So it's been 2 or 3 years since decaling. I only use water commercially cleaned by reverse osmosis, so scale should not be an issue. Am I wrong?

lel (original poster)

#4: Post by lel (original poster) »

After doing more research, I found this topic that describes an overheating problem similar to mine. According to it the failing element is a pressurestat. I will do the recommended measurements later tonight and see what ohmmeter shows.

cuppajoe

#5: Post by cuppajoe »