Temperature too high on Rancilio Silvia + PID

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
alexjp

#1: Post by alexjp »

I have a Silvia V3 with an Auber PID that I've been using for about 5 years. Today I'm getting some odd behaviors.

The PID is set to 218F (which is supposed to be about 201F at the grouphead), as it has been for many months. (I live at 5430 ft elevation, so water boils at about 202F). Today, I made two double cappuccinos, and then went back about 45 minutes later to make a split espresso. As I started the shot I could hear the steam in the grouphead, so I stopped it, flushed the grouphead, trashed the coffee, and then started again.

This time I tried flushing the grouphead before the shot (a step I don't usually take, because it seems to cause boiler temp to drop right away). Each time, tons of steam pouring out of the group as I watch the boiler temp drop rapidly (i.e. 10 degrees in a few seconds).

My assumption had been that I can have boiling water above the boiling point under pressure in the boiler, and it drops to the actual boiling point as it travels to the grouphead. This theory has seemed to work for years.

Thoughts? Do I have a blocked line somewhere? Is my boiler full of gunk? I descaled about 2 months ago. I don't have a ton of discipline on descaling since my water isn't very hard, but I do it at least twice a year.

-Alex

nickw

#2: Post by nickw »

Is the boiler dropping in temp faster than normal?

alexjp (original poster)

#3: Post by alexjp (original poster) »

Yes, I would say the temp is dropping faster than normal.

Also, I would say that the machine often settles these days at a temperature 3-4 degrees F above the set point, as if the PID were overshooting.

nickw

#4: Post by nickw »

Do you leave it on 24/7? - Nothing wrong with that btw. Or perhaps something in your water building up?