Weight of Milk after Frothing?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
dmeeusen

#1: Post by dmeeusen »

I am new to espresso. I managed to get a broken Gaggia Syncrony Compact that I resurrected to learn a little about espresso before making a big purchase.

After my wife complained that my cappuccinos are watery, I started weighing my milk before and after frothing. If I'm not careful I get about 2 ounces by weight (60 ml) of water in my frothed milk. That would make any drink taste weak. By bleeding the water and steam out of the steam wand for about 30 seconds (rather than 10) I can get that down to about an ounce (30 ml); still not good.

If I make my espresso on the Gaggia and steam the milk on my $40 Braun espresso machine, I get about 1/2 ounce of water in my milk or about 15 ml.

Has anyone weight their milk to see what's normal?

Dave M.

maccompatible

#2: Post by maccompatible »

It sounds like your machine isn't hot enough to make the steam as "dry" as it needs to be. Does it really take 30 seconds of an open steam valve to go from water to steam? I have a cheaper machine than yours, but it only takes me 2 seconds tops to clear out all the water and get steam.
"Wait. People drink coffee just for the caffeine??"
LMWDP #628

Advertisement
LaDan

#3: Post by LaDan »

How much milk are you starting with?

Normally about 11% - 13% of weight before and after frothing.

But note that if you don't manage to create a nice "microfoam", but instead your frothed milk is "bubbly", you will get watery texture, watery mouth-feel, cappuccino/latte. It is the silky microfoam that creates a heavy or thick mouthfeel.

dmeeusen (original poster)

#4: Post by dmeeusen (original poster) »