Trouble with dosing

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
audunth

#1: Post by audunth »

Hi,

I've been making home espresso for about 6-7 years. I've so far dosed by filling the basket so that I can swipe off a small excess to level the coffee with the rim of the basket before tamping.

My shots have been mostly okay tasting, but since I make cappuccinos/lattes most of the time and never really gotten into espresso drinking and tasting, I haven't paid that much attention to the actual taste of the espresso.

However, I have noticed that sometimes the cappuccino tastes better than other times. So to get better consistency, I got a small pocket scale with 0.01 gram accuracy. To my surprise, when I dose according to the specification of the basket (14g for the standard double, 18g for the VST I mostly use), the basket isn't anywhere near full. Not even the hump in the middle of the dose is above the rim. To fill the VST, so I can level the dose with my finger, I have to dose about 25g, 7 grams more than the specification.

In the standard double, if I dose 12g (after reading the Espresso 101: How to Adjust Dose and Grind Setting by Taste post), I even bottom out the portafilter during the tamp, so the tamper stops where the basket narrows near the bottom. (I tamp 15 kgs using a Click Mat from Espresso Gear which I calibrate regularly using my bathroom scale).