Rocket R58 or Rocket Cellini Professional

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
runtris

#1: Post by runtris »

I had a classic Cellini for 5 years it always made great espresso and cappuccino but this week I believe it has meet its demise.
So I'm looking at a new machine more the Cellini professional than the Rocket R58 but would like input as I have never used a Double Boiler before. I'm not sure the smaller boiler on the R58 will have the same results as the single larger boiler on the Cellini when it comes to pouring shots.
Any input would be greatly appreciated as well as recommendations on other machines.
Thanks in advance
Bill

smite

#2: Post by smite »

Bill,

Welcome to the site. You might want to watch this helpful video that is part of a series that Dan (HB) put together, that talks a bit about the differences between Heat Exchanger machines and Double Boilers.

This will greatly help in getting a sense of the difference and provide you with a foundation of understanding to help think through of what that means in terms of pulling shots and recovery time on an HX vs DB machine.

Newbie Introduction to Espresso - Heat Exchanger vs. Double Boiler Espresso Machines [video]

Once you have a better sense of the pros/cons for each type others can probably chime in on the specifics for the machines that you are considering.

Good luck.

Jasonmck

#3: Post by Jasonmck »

I was recently in the same position. I was back and forth between the R58 and the Evoluzione. I went with the R58. The double boiler has never let me down. Shot and steam after shot and steam

runtris (original poster)

#4: Post by runtris (original poster) »

Thank You

#5: Post by runtris (original poster) »

I wish I would have waited I just purchased the Giotto Evoluzione V2, wanted a Cellini but it seems everyone was sold out.