Stovetop Espresso Tastes Burnt?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
LumpySpacePrincess

#1: Post by LumpySpacePrincess »

Hello, All!
I am fairly new to home brewing espresso. In fact, up until 6 months ago I hadn't touched the stuff in over 10 years; though in my teens growing up in Seattle suburbs during the espresso boom of the 90's I was a coffee junkie. I have low blood pressure that causes headaches so my doctor recommended I start drinking coffee to boost my blood pressure. I started with a drip maker but then renewed my teenage obsession with cappuccino and have been trying to make it at home with an IKEA Bialetti knockoff pot and an Aerolatte battery milk frothing wand.

Anyhow...I mostly buy coffee from a gourmet market here in NJ (Fairway), and the coffee tastes mostly ok. Except no matter what brand of coffee or what acidity level or how light or dark the roast, it always comes out tasting burnt. I turn the flame on my stove as low as it can possibly go without the flame dying, turn the pot off at the first little sound of sputtering, and I don't pack my grinds into the basket.

Any idea why my coffee might be tasting burnt? Do I just need to pony up and buy a real Bialetti? Will that make a difference in the taste? I'm a more-than-broke PhD student, so inexpensive options are always best, though I might be willing to splurge on good coffee.

Thanks! :)

Eastsideloco

#2: Post by Eastsideloco »

You might try following these Moka pot brewing guidelines and see if that helps:

http://stumptowncoffee.com/brew-guides/moka-pot/

If not, I'd search out different coffee. Ideally, you want to work with coffee that is freshly roasted. So look for a date stamp, and try to buy your coffee a few days post-roast.

damonbowe

#3: Post by damonbowe »

Change the coffee. Experiment with different grind (if that's an option).

bostonbuzz

#4: Post by bostonbuzz »