Quick Mill Silvano power light

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
b33k34

#1: Post by b33k34 »

I've had my Silvano about 10 days now and there's a bit of strangeness I've just noticed -

If the machine is switched off on the front toggle switch, but the steam is switched off at the back, then the green power light is dimly lit. Switching the steam power to 'on' (with the machine still off - ie no power to the steam unit) and the green light goes out completely.

I wouldn't have expected any capacitors in the unit so I'm struggling to think what would cause this? Any ideas as to whether normal?

wsfarrell

#2: Post by wsfarrell »

Mine is about a year old and has never shown that behavior. Sounds potentially risky, though I'm no electrician.

Advertisement
FernandoF

#3: Post by FernandoF »

I see the exact same thing on my Silvano. It's really intriguing - I've even tried leaving it unplugged overnight, and in the morning the dim green light was still there...

Having said that, I personally see no reason for concern, as I've been pulling nothing but great shots for almost 2 years now. Enjoy your new machine !

sweaner

#4: Post by sweaner »

FernandoF wrote:I've even tried leaving it unplugged overnight, and in the morning the dim green light was still there...
So, without any power the light is on? Have you discovered cold fusion?!
Scott
LMWDP #248

FernandoF

#5: Post by FernandoF »

I wish I had discovered cold fusion, but I have probably just discovered a capacitor or something like that...

Yesterday I left it unplugged again, and after SEVERAL hours the dim green light finally died. I guess that makes more sense.

b33k34 (original poster)

#6: Post by b33k34 (original poster) »

That makes sense - so there's some sort of capacitor in circuit somewhere. Seems strange that the position of the steam power switch has any impact on it